5 ways to MAKE A GREAT DESIGN PORTFOLIO

About me: For the past 2 years I have been working every weekend at the pokies so I can study during the week and eventually get a job as a graphics designer, or a designer in any shape or form. As I do love the arty side to the world.

After quitting my job, I have spent the last week collecting my projects from the last two years to create a portfolio in the hopes of finding volunteer work experience while I study. I have studied a Certificate in Design and this year have started a Diploma in product design.

MAKING A GREAT PORTFOLIO

Consistency: When putting together a design portfolio a lot of your work may be in different sizes, and platforms. The golden rule is consistency. For that I have made all of work the same size, with the same information description box on every page.

Spelling: Check your spelling twice and maybe get someone to read over it.

Clarity: You want to give a clear description as many people wont understand the purpose of your designs especially as briefs can be very diverse in the design world now.

Price: You don’t want your portfolio to be too expensive as you want to be able to make several copies to leave with companies and people you wish to work with. Also my dad wanted a copy.

Keep a copy: Keeping a hard copy and a soft copy to file away is a good way to look back at how far you have come and allow you to expand upon your folio.

I hope this has helped you make a start. I will keep you posted if I come across more suggestions. Feel free to leave your thoughts and comments below.

5 ways to MAKE A GREAT DESIGN PORTFOLIO

Leave a Reply

